More ordeals than you can shake a stick at.

*Sigh*

I haven’t a clue where to even begin. I’ll try to sounds as enthusiastic as possible, but that’s going to take more effort than my stupid quadratic formula homework. Regardless, it’s worth a shot.

First off, I’ll start with the problem of the day – mites. Yes, mites. Those freaky, crawly, nasty things. The gerbils have them. I just found out today. Damnit.

That explains the reason why I’ve been nothing but a big rash the past two weeks. Indeed, it took two weeks for me to put two and two together. Then again, apparently it took me two weeks to actually recognize that the things even exist.

Regardless, it has been decided that the gerbils have to be given back to my best friend whom I took them from two months ago. I can’t risk it with the cat, and I’m a complete germaphobe/OCD sufferer. Little crawly bugs are enough for me to want to jump out the window. I love the little guys dearly, and I wish I didn’t have to get rid of them… but what must happen must happen. I just hope she can find a good home for them.

Next up on the seemingly never ending list of problems is the one I’ve been facing for about a year – orchestra. I’ve been playing the violin for the past seven years of my educational career, and the beginning of this year plus last year have been absolute hell. My teacher is on my case about everything… mainly the length of my fingernails. Indeed, they are much narrower and longer than the normal persons, and for some reason she’s fixated with the concept. Her recurring statement to me for the last five years has been “Either you want to have nice nails or you want to play the violin.” Even the night before a lesson I’d cut them and they’d still be too long. They’re cut as short as they possibly can be and that’s not enough. Two words – screw you. Heh heh.

The second reason why I’ve had enough is the fact that I’m now a first violin, as I should be, because I’m a junior. But there’s this one part in a song we’re playing that’s practically in 55th position. And to be perfectly honest, I’m not very well versed in playing the violin two inches away from my chin to the point where it sounds like foreign alien noises. So during a lesson Thursday she’s like “Only the firsts work on the part, because there’s pretty much only one of you who still doesn’t know how to play it.” I almost said “Jee, you couldn’t have been more obvious if you tried.”

Anyway, she makes me play the part alone in the back of the auditorium. Of course, it sucks… I already admitted I can’t play it. After she’s done spending ten minutes complaining about the length of my nails, she proceeds to tell me that “The only reason why I moved you up to first violin was because you’re a junior and I didn’t want to hurt your feelings.”  Pardon me while I pull the knife out of my back… thanks. Bandage, anyone?? So now she’s threatening that “If you don’t learn this part by Tuesday and prove yourself, I have no choice but to put you with the seconds.”

Come on… I haven’t practiced for the past seven years. I can’t stand the sound of myself playing alone. So I’m planning on going into the guidance office tomorrow morning and getting myself out of that class. There’s no way I’m torturing myself again this year. The nice part is that Mom is right behind me on everything, so I’m all set as far as that goes. The trick now is going to be avoiding her as much as possible throughout the whole drop process. Grrr.

At any rate, that’s pretty much all I have to excessively rant about tonight. I can’t think of anything else, and you’re officially my hero for having read through this whole thing. You deserve a major award. Or at least a hug. Maybe pie.

🙂

Leave a Reply

