“…and eventually faded into a crystalline background so mimicked in the imagery of icy fairy tales.”

As I sit here typing away ever so slowly, I’m waiting for my nail polish to dry.  Yes, at 11 o’clock on a school night, I opted to do my nails.  Hey, we have a trip tomorrow.  What can I say?

Anyway, today was Mom’s birthday, so grannie decided to take her out to dinner (of course, I tagged along too).  We went over to Valatie at the Four Brothers, which is a Greeky pizza place… and their pizza is to die for.

However, I’m not writing about that.  See, in the midst of this wonderful ice storm, everything has seemed to become more beautiful.  Now I don’t know if it’s the 1/2 inch of ice that is covering everything, or the way the lights hit the branches, but it’s almost magical.  When I woke up this morning and I looked out the window, all I saw was these trees that looked to be like glass against a pale gray sky.  No sun to shine on them, the branches looked transparent, and eventually faded into a crystalline background so mimicked in the imagery of icy fairy tales.

The real magic happened on the way to the restaurant, however.  We were driving the back way down 9 Mile Run, which goes right past Kline Kill Airport (the grass strip that I learned to fly on).  Mind you, this was around 7 tonight, so it’s pitch black.  Only the smallest light pollution from Albany gave the sky some hint of life, allowing me to just barely make out the runway and the hangars.  Now, I can’t quite explain what it was, but time slowed down almost to a halt as we were driving past the airport.  The only thing I could see was myself in a 1940’s Taylorcraft taking off into the low overcast on such an icy night with a light sprinkle of rain.  I was almost scared because it seemed so real – like I was there instead of in the car.  And then I was immersed in the feeling of longing… longing to fly at night with the clouds ahead of me and the dark and speckled earth under my wings.  Perhaps it’s because I finished a 200-page book on Anne Morrow Lindbergh… or perhaps it’s because I know I’m still a pilot with my whole life ahead of me, living in the shadows of great aviators that I can only read about or reminisce of their accomplishments.  Whatever it may be, that feeling that I had when driving past the airport was unlike any other…  heh heh.

On that note, I think I’m going to get everything together for the trip tomorrow…. big day!

Leave a Reply

