Flying Magazine (again), Running around at 4 in the morning… and flying again.

Ahh… tis the eve of Christmas Eve. How lovely!

Yeah…. have I got a story for you.

So all last night I’m here at my grandmother’s wrapping presents… I finally get the chance to lay down and go to sleep around 12, and around 4 am I hear the answering machine click, like someone just left a message. After pondering for about two seconds, I started to go back to sleep. Then I hear my grandmother knocking rolls of wrapping paper over. I stirred, hoping that maybe she would think she’s waking me and go back upstairs, but she shines this dim flashlight in my eyes and yells “There was an explosion!”

I’m sure you’ve heard of Jumpin’ Jack Flash… well, I was Jumpin’ Sarah Flash. Never have I ever achieved such a stunt as to run in midair. I grabbed my huge wool coat (I’m in my pj’s) and ran outside in the freezing rain (literally), just to find that the power is off from the second street light down all the way to the end of the street. However, the fairgrounds has power, the main road has power, and the side street has power. My conclusion? A blown-up transformer.

So of course, my grandmother is wigging out because there’s no power and it’s 4 in the morning. I grab a better flashlight and we light some candles and wait. And wait. And wait some more. Eventually an ambulance comes down and parks at the very end of the street with his highbeams on, and a cop car does the same at the other end. It wasn’t until about an hour and a half after it went out that the electric company truck came along. Needless to say, the power came on around 7:45 this morning. I fell asleep around 6:30 because the house was getting cold and woke up around 8-ish.

So that was my morning. Pretty exciting stuff.

Anyway, I emailed my flight instructor yesterday afternoon telling him that my weekends have cleared up and I’d like to start flying again. He wrote –

Hey Sarah,
Great to hear from you!!! I've been wondering where you've been???

Tom (B) has kept me abreast of some of your doings. Sounds like it hasn't been only the house... :~}

Lee Ramsdell, whom you might have met at Freehold, has gone into a partnership with me to offer training in his Allegro 2000. We are in the process of setting up a Light Sport Pilot school at 1B1. So that means that we'll have an airplane for you to solo in come the big day.

As for a break in my schedule... you are indeed kidding aren't you??? :~}

All my best for the Holidays... for the New Year... For you entire LIFE!!!!
Doug

Yes, Doug is awesome like that. Heh heh. I wrote back to him saying how happy I was that I now won’t have to pay $140 an hour for instruction in the Katana. Thank. God. Heh heh. I also wrote how I couldn’t really understand how Tom was updating Doug on what’s going on, other than how I made it into Flying again. Yes, again. But yeah. Speaking of which, I’m going to head over to the website and see if they have the January articles in yet.

Ah hah! I knew it.

On that note, I’m going to go eat breakfast, go food shopping, and wrap more gifts. Laytah.

By the by, my Uncle made it out of surgery and he’s doing well… they removed part of the tumor.  Yay!

Leave a Reply

